Intermittent Lost Connection [Resolved]

@support

I am new to Roon and having intermittent connection/playback problems.

I have an elaborate network primarily used for a home technology lab and home automation.

Core: Roon Version 1.4 (build 300) stable (64 bit) on a linux virtual machine with Ubuntu 16.04.4 fully patched and up to date. 64 gb of SSD disk storage and 16 gb of memory allocated. Two cpus (Xeon class on this particular host) allocated to the core.

Control: Roon Version 1.4 (build 300) stable (64 bit) on a Windows 10 Pro PC.

Endpoint: Naim Uniti Atom

Music Library: Three watched folders on a Synology SD 716+ consistent primarily of FLAC files with a mix of Apple lossless and WAV files.

Network:

The vmware host with the Core and the NAS are both connected to an HP 1820-24G switch.

The HP switch is connected to a Trendnet 16 port TEG-S16D unmanaged switch via Cat 6 cable.

The Windows 10 pc and Naim Uniti Atom are each connected to the Trendnet swith via Cat 6 cable.

Issues:

Periodically while playing a file stored on the NAS the controller reports that it can’t connect to the core. The problem tends to self-correct swiftly.

Periodically the music stops playing on the Naim without a connection problem being reported. I need to restart the song.

Thank you for the feedback @Richard_Robbins and sharing these observations you have made with us. The insight is appreciated!

If I am not mistaken the HP 1820-24G is a managed switch and we have seen a few issues crop up with these devices in the past ( Example: #1, #2, #3). I would recommend enabling flow control on the switch, as we have seen it help other users.

Additionally, you mentioned that when music stops playing to the Naim Uniti Atom without a “connection problem is being reported”. Can you confirm the exact error message being generated by the application.

-Eric

@eric @support

I enabled flow control on the switch and the problem persists.