Peachtree Amps - Nova 300 and 150

Wonderful!
I’m interested in your system because I too have a Peachtree Nova (the 150), which I’m feeding by USB and other inputs. So far, I’ve had a hard time hearing significant differences among most DSP configurations for the Nova. It’s as if the amp stamps its own sound signature on almost anything it gets. (Or maybe it’s my ears doing that.)

I’ve been using a Nova 300 for almost 2 years at the moment. And have multiple feeds and DACs attached. I’d be happy to chat about what I’ve found with the amp.

One interesting thing to note, is that with a Windows PC and the Peachtree ASIO driver, I get native DSD 256. At least I found it interesting; since their marketing materials only stated DSD 128. When I called their tech dept to discuss, it was because “that is what you’d get with Mac OS” and they didn’t want to confuse users or have the support hassle of explaining why you need Windows to get the Native DSD rate.

I’ve never plugged one up to a Nucleus. I’d be very interested if it can reach native DSD 256 that way. (Or maybe Noris would know?).

Interesting.
Daniel, I wonder if you’ve noticed significant differences in SQ due to upstream DSP (such as Roon/HQPlayer filters, upsampling, USB decrapifiers, etc.). If so, where have you gotten the biggest bang for your buck, upstream from the Nova?

HI tom,

I’ve moved this discussion out of the support thread and into it’s own thread in Audio Products.

Just to let you know my setup,

• I have an home theater / audio computer running Windows, HQPlayer, Roon Client feeding the Nova via USB.

• I have a Allo DigiOne feeding the Nova via Coax

• I have a Schiit Multibit DAC (USB from the PC) feeding the Nova via Analog

I can switch and compare feeds pretty easily.

I do not use any “usb decrapifiers”
When using Roon not HQPlayer, the main DSP employed depends on the DAC, but, is still only some form of upsampling.