ROCK + movies -- what's your solution?

I’m a newbie, please forgive me if this should go on a separate thread. For those that are running Rock on a NUC/Nucleus, what are you using to play movies?

I’m trying to minimize my hardware foot print, but would love optimized music. FYI my pre-pro is not network enabled (no DLNA). DAC is part of pre-pro and does not support USB, only HDMI, AES and Toslink for digital connections. I have not purchased the NAS or NUC yet. Just waiting to define complete system.

Thanks for your help.

The Rock NUC is strictly for Roon audio. The HDMI from the NUC goes straight into the surround processor, with no need for video (except to initially install and set up ROCK). For movies, I use an Oppo BDP-105D (disks and Netflix) and an Apple TV (pay per view and files). The processor (a McIntosh MX121) switches the HDMI as needed. A Logitech Harmony Elite makes it user friendly. The MX121 has network capability, but I don’t bother with it.

I’m using Plex, but I’m looking to find a way to get Plex server running on the ROCK NUC/Nucleus…

As for the player for Plex, I use a RaspberryPi3

4 Likes

I stopped using Plex. I now use Infuse on apple tv and ipad. No need to have a server running

I’m prevaricating (and have been for years) between Plex and Emby. Either are OK for movies, but hopeless for displaying my photo collection. I keep hoping that one of them will get its act together, but so far, not much sign of that.

Danny - I’m so glad you are working on getting Plex server to work on Rock/Nucleus. Good luck and thank you!

I use Plex and Roon on my custom system. Plex does not use GPU so get ready to tax your CPU for transcoding. They do have a beta test going on for Plex Pass users that uses Intel IGP (Not sure but they might have suspended the testing)

that’s your Plex Player, not Plex Server… correct?

Stevev1 - Infusion looks like an interesting product. Thanks for the suggestion.

Plex Server.