Roon Remote Issues, Mine

Here I what happens when I try to get Roon Remote to work on my Samsung Tab A. Never connects; cannot seem to find the OS. The program works fine otherwise.

Hi, I’m new to this too-have just started paying!
Forgive me if this is an obvious question, but is your Tablet definitely on the same network? I ask as I have my core plugged into a Deco P9 mesh network, where it can be seen by all my wired and wireless devices-however the other day I tried to plug directly into the router, to free up an Ethernet connection and it vanished. Took a moment to realise that the P9 doesn’t extend the hub’s network, rather it replaces it.
So, if you are on a Wi-Fi connection from a repeater, that joins the network then broadcasts its own it may become a ‘different’ network to Roon.
Just a thought!

In addition to verifying the tablet is on the same sub-net. On the second screen pic, if you click the blue Help link, use 255.255.255.255 as the Core IP. That helps some people with this issue.

1 Like

The Roon is running on a laptop that is network CAT cabled to the router. The Tab A works without issue with all other wireless apps. Not sure how to check for a subnet, can you point me in the right direction?

I will try that address and see what happens. Just seems odd that in the Roon “setup” when I hit the “find the OS” button it does not come up with anything.

This is what the setup screen looks like. Is this saying that Roon cant find its own OS on the laptop it resides on?

Sorry I can’t offer any further help on networks, I’m presuming the Wi-Fi is from the same router in this instance? If it is, then I’m out of my depth. In my case as I have a Deco mesh network the core needed to be plugged into a node, not the router itself.

Because Find the OS us only for finding RoonOS installs. You are on Windows, right. So that button will do nothing for you. Yes, I agree it should be made clearer.

Yes, just one router provided by cable company