Suddenly lost 146 k physical files from the Roon library

Roon Core Machine

Win 10 PC

Networking Gear & Setup Details

Music files are on a Synology NAS

Connected Audio Devices

Library Size

JRiver Media Center finds 159 k music files.

Description of Issue

As far as I can tell all music files were imported to the Roon library. Then suddenly, for an unknown reason, there were only 51 830 files reported by Roon. The clean library option informed me that there were 146 885 deleted files. At the same time Roon reported analyzing 76 098 / 87 396 files.

No files have been deleted from the NAS.

How can I get the files back into the Roon library without rescanning?

I am new to Roon (actually on my trial period), so I also wonder if this happens a lot.

I suspect it has something to do with your NAS connection/login. I’m sure someone from @support will be along to help, but in answer to your last question, this has never happened to me in 4+ years. It is not a typical Roon problem. Good luck.

Hello @Soren_Oman,

Thanks a lot for getting in touch. I am sorry it was because of a problem, especially as you’re trying to explore Roon during your free trial. We’d love to help.

Could you please let us know how is your NAS (containing your music library) connected to your Windows 10 (the Roon Core)?

Could you please send us a screenshot of Settings → Storage?

Also, if you navigate to Settings → Library → Skipped Files, do you see anything there?

:nerd_face:

The NAS is connected to the LAN via an unmanaged switch and the PC is connected to the same switch.

in a rescan I just did at least > 170 000 files were discovered, but nothing was imported (except maybe an album I added yesterday) to the Roon library.

In the skipped files section there are only 4 music files and < 20 jpg-files.

I attach some screen shots (I use the Swedish translation).

PS. I am not sure the uploading of the screenshots succeeded, so here are links also:

The screen shots again.