Trouble adding Cocktail Audio X50 to Roon

I HAD the Coctail Audio X50D working with ROON for Many Months after a Horrible beginning. Now I had to Reset my Windows 10 (Due to Updates NEVER working) and I lost ROON Core. So I reloaded the Core and Went back to Previous Memory Settings from days before. Now I can’t Get ROON to see the X50D on the Network to Load in the Music. iTunes loaded Perfectly. I contacted Cocktail Audio and they think it’s ROON’s issue. (They’re Always Very Nice) I put the File and IP in Correctly. (Many Times). I Need ROON to reset this, I believe----I know Cocktail Audio is Pretty New to being ROON Ready.

Have you added roon to the firewall on the rebuilt pc?

OH—No, I’ll try that now—Do you know a Short Cut for that? Sorry. I’ve never done it before. I know I didn’t when it was originally working with ROON. I have VIPER and it usually asks me to Allow or Disallow something. THANKS GED

I Completely Shut off Firewalls. Still Lo

ading Error.

The cocktail probably needs smb1 access. One of the updates to windows turned this access off. Take a look and see. If not, then turn SMB1 access back on.

Instructions here:

Ged, I think you may be Right—My ipad (Just Tried) to connect and cant find the CORE. But I Shut the entire Firewall down?.

When you cannot find the server you might select the option on the iPad to add the server IP and enter 255.255.255.255; and see if that makes a difference.

On a side note, try getting Fing, to check and see what the IP addresses of everything on the network. It is a great little app to help with network issues.

And, finally, a recent Windows update may have also unenabled guest access to remote storage. If this is the issue, then this will help:

If you want to enable insecure guest access, you can configure the following Group Policy settings:
Computer configuration\administrative templates\network\Lanman Workstation

“Enable insecure guest logons”