Advice on SSD for new Nucleus +

Hi - just ordered a Nucleus + and have a couple of weeks before delivery to decide on an SSD to install when it arrives. I’m an absolute newbie re: SSD. I need as much storage as possible (4T seems to be the max available for the Nucleus form factor) and see there are various configurations shown at NewEgg with descriptors that mean nothing to me but seem to have price significance. Please advise? Thank you. Ken

Maybe this one…

https://www.amazon.com/Samsung-Inch-Internal-MZ-76E4T0B-AM/dp/B07864XY8B/ref=sr_1_1?dchild=1&keywords=samsung+4tb+ssd&qid=1593649090&sr=8-1

Or this one ignore the shipping costs as I am in the U.K. and wanted to give you a USA link.

Micron do an 8TB SSD that would fit, if you wanted to splash out…

Edit: and I see that Samsung are releasing an 8TB version in the 870 QVO range next month. That would be my preferred choice, if I was looking for an 8TB SSD for music storage.

I’d wait for this one. It’s going to be sub-$1000:

3 Likes

Thank you to all who have responded. Very kind! Question - for an audio application, is the Samsung QVO line adequate, or is there an advantage to the (apparently superior) performance of the EVO line?

the QVO is perfect for storage of audio files. QVO trades cell writes for capacity/$. Given that you will not be deleting/adding content in the thousands of terabytes on that 1 SSD, it’s perfect.

9 Likes

Thank you! Very interesting & instructive. Ken

Bought this one last week. Micron 5210 ION (7680Go, 2.5") Installed on my Nucleus+ and works like a charm. Costed me 966 CHF. Flawless migration from my Synology NAS to SSD. Performance is great. 2 things Danny:

• I used to have direct link to file from Nucleus clicking on the blue link in track info. Not there anymore.Need to look the path and go through Mac finder if I need to access the file now.
  • Happiest Roon user on earth. Love it more everyday if even possible, but please, please Large boxset management…
3 Likes