How to explore/discover albums by ratings not from my library?

Hi, I’m new to Roon and I’d love to discover new albums and artists in a specific genre for example an Experimental Rock, but I can only see albums from that genre that already in my Library. I realy like the Focus sorting options, especialy that I can sort albums by ratings.

Is there a possibility to do the same by searching for albums or in genres sections?

Focus is only for use on your Library content - it will not focus on content in the Tidal catalogue.

You can use the Global Search function of Roon (the magnifying glass icon on the top right of the Roon screen) to search through both your Library and Tidal.

So, for example, searching for “Experimental Rock” will show that genre in the search results:

Clicking on that will produce some new releases and recommendations from the Tidal catalogue:

Thank you for your help!

So if I understand correctly, Roon doesn’t let me browse/search for bands or albums outside of my own library? And the only way to discover other artists/albums is through recommendations? Which by the way works really poorly so far, despite importing my full artist/albums library from Tidal?

Why doesn’t Roon allow to browse all artists with specific genres? After all, searching for new artists on a basis similar to using the Focus function would be something unique when it comes to music listening apps.

No, that’s not correct. You can use global search for artists, albums, compositions, composers and genres outside of your own library.

You asked for search on a specific genre. Since the Tidal catalogue contains millions of tracks, Roon will return the top results only. It’s not like Google where you get thousands of hits and then have to browse through to find what you want.