Remote control from another LAN

Hi,

I am new to ROON and I am in my first day of the trial period.

My setup is as follows: I have two houses: house1 and house2. Both houses are connected via an IPSEC site-tosite connection, with the result that each has a different lan subnet, but all inter-house traffic is being routed without problems.

My music collection is within a NAS (ASUSTOR) in house1. For the trial I have set up roon on an iMac, accessing the NAS. This iMac is in house1. With this set up I can play music in house1, and access the server from other computers without issues (well, except when apparently the roon server seems to go to sleep… but that seems to be another issue)

I have configured by squeezelite systems in house2 to point to the Roon server in house1: they find the server, and I can find them registered in the Roon server. Music reproduction works fine (I am listening to it right now)

However, I cannot connect a remote in house2 to the server sitting in house1. I manually introduce the IP address of the server, but to no avail…

I do not know how networking for the remotes is set up, but I fail to understand why squeezelite clients can connect wihtout issue, but client remotes cannot.

Previous to trying roon I had a LMS on the Asustor NAS and was able to access my music collection without any problems.

Could you point me to something I could do to overcome this problem?

Regards

OK,

a quick update.

Yesterday, suddenly my remote clients (iPad and OSX) have been able to connecto to the Roon server. The conclussion is that the process takes a long time initially until they somehow get paired…

If I had some more information about how the remote–server interaction works I could venture some valid hypothesis about why I have observed what I saw.