System architecture comments: a tale of 3 systems

I’m new to roon, so this is going to sound a bit presumptuous… but I have decades of experience as a system architect on large, mission critical systems, parts of which had near real-time constraints, so maybe this perspective is useful.
I have a very large (> 10,000 album) music collection. I’ve used many music management/playback systems, and only a couple have scaled adequately. Roon has done an excellent job with database. I last used a system I’ll call S1. I liked it a lot, but hit a scalability wall. The user interface became very sluggish: sometimes it could take several seconds to respond to a control input, even as simple as “pause playback”. But even at its most sluggish, it would continue to play the current track without glitches or interruption. I could re-index my large collection without interfering with playback in progress (though the user interface response suffered greatly).
So, how about roon? first attempt: did a trial with the following setup:

Core:dell inspiron laptop, 64 bit windows 10 - dedicated to roon.
WINDOWS-HCUU2NA, 64 bit
intel core i5-4200U, 1.6 Ghz, 6 GB RAM
Music repository: smb mount from pi4 dedicated fileserver
network: switched 100/1000 ethernet, cat 6 cabling and linksys/intel switches
ROPIEEE bridge running on Raspberry Pi 4 Model B Rev 1.1
The ROPIEEE sw version is 3.094, kernel 5.4.83-5-SPCKFSH-v7l+
output: Benchmark DAC3 HGC, usb connected to the pi/ropieee bridge (no HAT/daughter board)
control: android tablet and various

I realized the core was likely underpowered, given my repository size. the fileserver DAC and network were well tested over a couple of years of previous use, including hours of DSD playback. I expected sluggish performance. In fact this setup was completely unusable. playblack often stopped within 20 seconds of initiation. and system activity caused the client to lose connection to the core.